Automated cost optimization of the inner lining of the second Lötschberg base tunnel tube

To be able to realize the integrated synchronized timetables in long-distance traffic and to increase the capacity in freight traffic between Brig and Bern, the two-lane extension of the Lötschberg Base Tunnel (LBT) is necessary. This demands, among other things, the installation of an inner lining over a length of 14 km in the second LBT tube, which is currently secured with shotcrete. As the second tube was excavated with a varying over-profile, a skillful choice in the sequence of formwork carriage geometries can lead to an optimization of the concrete volume to be installed, the feasibility of the build and the construction sequences, taking into account the excavation profile available.

In the spirit of a "proof of concept", the use of mathematical optimization algorithms for the automated determination of a cost-optimal sequence of formwork carriage geometries was analyzed in the section from km 31'500 to km 32'000. A reduced point cloud of a laser scan and geometric specifications of the formwork carriage geometry formed the basis of said algorithms. In addition, it was specified that the formwork carriage may only be adapted by the arrangement of a horizontal inlay in the apex.

Illustration: Planned installation of the inner lining

In order to later be able to use the cost optimization for the entire 14 km, special attention was paid to the best possible scalability in combination with an extensive modularization and automation. In comparison to the traditional manual optimization, the automated optimization approach developed in-house and adopted here resulted in a saving of approx. 1000 m³ concrete doe the 500 m tunnel and thus demonstrated significant advantages for costs, deadlines and resources.

Details on this cost optimization can be found in our publication in the magazine "tunnel":

  • Meier, J.; Pitteloud, L.; Irngartinger, S. (2021): Lötschberg Base Tunnel, Second Tube: Automated Cost Optimization of the Inner Lining. Tunnel 5/2021, Bauverlag, S. 22-35. pdf

Illustration: Visualization of a run of a 'particle swarm optimizer'

Services: Special civil engineering, geotechnical engineering, mathematical optimization, tunneling

Geotechnical engineering and foundation,
Underground engineering,
Traffic

BACK TO OVERVIEW

Your contact person

Jörg Meier
Digital Development Geotechnical Engineering
+41 61 317 62 53 | am9lcmcubWVpZXJAZ3J1bmVyLmNo

Gruner AG
St. Jakobs-Strasse 199
CH-4020 Basel

References on the subject

Children's Hospital Zurich
Double-track expansion Goldach-Rorschach City
FEDRO N1 UPlaNS St Gallen East - West, reinforcement of retaining walls, bridge foundations and galleries in a landslide slope
SBB, Railway line CEVA, Geneva
Roche pRed

BLS - Optimisation des coûts de la voûte intérieure du tunnel de base du Lötschberg

Pour la réalisation de l'horaire cadencé à la demi-heuredans le trafic à longue distance et l'augmentation de la capacité du trafic de marchandises entre Brigue et Berne, le doublement de voie dans le tunnel de base du Lötschberg (TBL) est nécessaire. Pour y parvenir, il est notamment prévu d'installer une voûte intérieure dans le deuxième tube du TBL, actuellement sécurisée par du béton projeté, sur une longueur de 14 km. Pour le deuxième tube, qui a été excavé par explosif avec un surprofil variable, un choix judicieux dans la séquence des géométries des chariots de coffrage permet d'optimiser à la fois le volume de béton à mettre en place et les séquences de construction et de mise en œuvre, en tenant compte du  profil d'excavation à disposition.

Dans le cadre d'une "preuve de concept", l'utilisation d'algorithmes mathématiques d'optimisation pour la détermination automatisée d'une séquence optimisée en termes de coûts de géométrie des chariots de coffrage a été étudiée entre le km 31'500 et le km 32'000. Le nuage de points relevés par laser et les spécifications de la géométrie du chariot de coffrage constituent la base. En outre, il est précisé que le réglage du chariot de coffrage s'effectue exclusivement par la disposition d'une calle horizontale au sommet du tunnel.

Illustration: Installation prévue de la voûte intérieure

Afin de pouvoir utiliser au mieux l'optimisation des coûts pour l'ensemble des 14 km suivants, une attention particulière a été accordée à la possibilité d'extension et de la modularité de la technique choisie Par rapport à l'optimisation manuelle classique, l'approche d'optimisation automatisée choisie ici a permis de réaliser une économie d'environ 1000 m³ / 500 m et a donc présenté des avantages évidents en termes de coûts, de délais et de ressources.

Vous trouverez des détails sur cette optimisation des coûts dans notre publication dans le magazine "tunnel" (allemand/anglais) :

  • Meier, J.; Pitteloud, L.; Irngartinger, S. (2021): Lötschberg Base Tunnel, Second Tube: Automated Cost Optimization of the Inner Lining. Tunnel 5/2021, Bauverlag, S. 22-35. pdf

Illustration: Visualization de fonctionnement d'un optimiseur d'essaim de particules

Services : Génie civil spécial, géotechnique, optimisation mathématique, construction de tunnels

Géotechnique, génie civil, travaux spéciaux,
Travaux souterrains,
Trafic

RETOUR À APERÇU

Votre interlocuteur

Jörg Meier
Développement numérique Géotechnique
+41 61 317 62 53 | am9lcmcubWVpZXJAZ3J1bmVyLmNo

Gruner AG
St. Jakobs-Strasse 199
CH-4020 Basel

Références sur le sujet

Rénovation Baslerstrasse Allschwil
Roche, Tour 1, Bâle
Roche pRed
Expertise judiciaire, rapport d'expert, mandat de contrôle, second opinion
CFF, ligne ferroviaire CEVA, Genève