Engineering methods in fire protection and structural design

ETH Zurich

At ETH Zurich, scientists are researching the innovative processes of tomorrow. It is therefore only natural that modern simulation methods are also used to solve a special task in the renovation of the listed ML machine laboratory hall in the heart of Zurich. The steel structure of the hall was built in 1933 and is one of the first completely welded steel constructions in Switzerland.

Since the use of the hall in the course of the currently ongoing reconstruction also has to take fire protection into account, but at the same time the structure is to be preserved in its original state for reasons of monument protection, a hot design with natural fire methods was applied to prove the fire resistance of the steel hall. Prof. Dr. Mario Fontana, who until recently held the professorship for steel, wood and composite construction at the Institute for Structural Analysis and Design of the ETH Zurich and is one of the most internationally renowned scientists for hot design from Switzerland, was involved in this ambitious project.

With the help of simulation methods, proof of the load-bearing capacity in the event of fire was provided, so that the machine hall can continue to be used in its original state with a visible steel support structure in the future.


Learn more about this in our article under Discover.

 

 

 

Fire safety,
Structural engineering

Sonderdruck Heissbemessung an der ETH Zürich

BACK TO OVERVIEW

Your contact person

Dominik Felix
Team leader fire protection engineering methods
+41 61 317 64 65 | ZG9taW5pay5mZWxpeEBncnVuZXIuY2g=

Gruner AG
St. Jakobs-Strasse 199
CH-4020 Basel

Pascal Lequime
Team Manager Structural Engineering
+41 61 317 62 27 | cGFzY2FsLmxlcXVpbWVAZ3J1bmVyLmNo

Gruner AG
St. Jakobs-Strasse 199
CH-4020 Basel

References on the subject

United Swiss Salt Works
New construction and conversion of office and residential buildings in Basel
Music hall of the Stadtcasino Basel
Schulhaus Erlenmatt
Bossard Arena and "Uptown", Zug

Méthodes d'ingénierie en matière de protection contre l'incendie et de conception des structures

ETH Zürich

À l'ETH Zurich, les scientifiques étudient les processus innovants de demain. Il va donc sans dire que des méthodes de simulation modernes sont également utilisées pour résoudre une tâche particulière dans le cadre de la rénovation de la salle des machines-laboratoires ML, classée monument historique, au cœur de Zurich. La structure métallique de la salle a été construite en 1933 et est l'une des premières constructions métalliques entièrement soudées en Suisse.

Comme l'utilisation du hall dans le cadre de la reconstruction en cours doit également tenir compte de la protection contre l'incendie, mais que la structure doit être conservée dans son état d'origine pour des raisons de protection des monuments, un design à chaud avec des méthodes de feu naturel a été appliqué pour prouver la résistance au feu du hall en acier. Le professeur Mario Fontana, qui occupait jusqu'à récemment la chaire de construction en acier, en bois et en matériaux composites à l'Institut d'analyse et de conception structurelle de l'ETH Zurich et qui est l'un des scientifiques suisses les plus réputés au niveau international pour la conception à chaud, a participé à cet ambitieux projet.

Des méthodes de simulation ont été utilisées pour vérifier la capacité portante en cas d'incendie, afin que la salle des machines puisse continuer à être utilisée dans son état d'origine avec une structure de support en acier visible.


Pour en savoir plus, consultez notre article dans la rubrique Découvrir.

 

 

 

Protection incendie,
Conseil en protection incendie,
Conception de structures porteuses

Sonderdruck Heissbemessung an der ETH Zürich

RETOUR À APERÇU

Votre interlocuteur

Dominik Felix
Chef d'équipe protection incendie méthodes d'ingénierie
+41 61 317 64 65 | ZG9taW5pay5mZWxpeEBncnVuZXIuY2g=

Gruner AG
St. Jakobs-Strasse 199
CH-4020 Basel

Pascal Lequime
Chef d'équipe Conception structurelle
+41 61 317 62 27 | cGFzY2FsLmxlcXVpbWVAZ3J1bmVyLmNo

Gruner AG
St. Jakobs-Strasse 199
CH-4020 Basel

Références sur le sujet

Überbauung
City Gate Bürogebäude C
Maison d'appartements Sommergasse 7, Allschwil
Lidl Deutschland, Hauptverwaltung, Bad Wimpfen
kult.kino atelier